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RE: Policy Statement 98-1
Impact of the Brady Act on Pawn Transactions

The Brady Act provides for the establishment of a national instant criminal background check
system (NICS) to be effective November 30, 1998.  A federal firearm licensee (FFL) must
contact the system before transferring any firearm to an unlicensed individual.  The transfer of
a firearm to an unlicensed individual includes the redemption of a pawned firearm.

In some states, a state law enforcement agency serves as the Point-of-Contact (POC); however,
the state of Texas has not designated a POC to perform NICS background checks for FFLs.
Thus, the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) will serve as the POC for performing NICS
background checks.

The FBI is expected to assess a fee for each background check ranging from $13 to $16.  The
amount of the fee assessed by the FBI may be collected directly from the person redeeming the
firearm.  In order for a pawnbroker to collect the federally mandated NICS background check,
in addition to the pawn service charge authorized by the Texas Pawnshop Act, the pawnbroker
must collect the same amount for the NICS that the pawnbroker pays the federal government
for the NICS background check.

The Texas Pawnshop Act provides:
A pawnbroker may not contract for, charge, or receive an amount, other than a
pawn service charge, as a charge for credit in connection with a pawn transaction.

A pawnbroker, at the time a firearm is pledged, must properly disclose to any person pledging
a firearm that a federally mandated fee to perform a NICS background check will be assessed
upon the firearm’s redemption.  The disclosure should include the expected amount of the fee,
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if known, or the maximum range of the expected fee.  The notice must be in writing.  The
disclosure is important so that pledgors are adequately informed of and have agreed to all of the
terms and conditions involving the pawn loan.  Additionally, the Truth-in-Lending Act requires
disclosures of the terms related to consumer credit transactions.  Pawnbrokers are strongly
encouraged to contact those pledgors with firearms already in pawn who may be subject to the
background check advising them of the fee assessment and the effective implementation date.

An example of a disclosure would be:

NOTICE: If any of the pledged goods on this pawn transaction involve a
firearm, you may be subject to a required background check to
determine whether you are eligible to receive the firearm (Brady
Handgun Violence Prevention Act).  You may be required to pay a fee
not to exceed $16.00 for the background check at the time of
redemption of the firearm.  The fee, if imposed, is the actual cost
charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigations.  The pawnbroker
does not receive any direct or indirect compensation from this fee.

A pawnbroker may not collect from the person redeeming the firearm any other expense the
pawnbroker may incur in connection with the Brady Act. The pawnbroker must document the
fees collected and the records must support the associated payment of these fees to the FBI.

If the person redeeming the firearm is denied authority to receive the firearm, it should be noted
the Texas Pawnshop Act prohibits the pawnbroker from accepting payment on a loan unless the
pawnbroker returns the pledged goods to the pledgor.  When the pledgor is denied the
redemption of the firearm, the pawnbroker is not obligated to return the amount of the NICS
background check fee that has already been incurred and is payable to the federal government.
A pawnbroker shall continue to maintain a pawn loan in an open status until the expiration of
the last day of grace.  Upon expiration of the last day of grace, the pawnbroker may take the
unredeemed firearm into inventory.

The Department of Justice has established appeal procedures for a person who has been denied
authority to transfer a firearm.  If a pawnbroker has knowledge that an appeal has been filed,
the pawnbroker shall continue to hold the firearm in pawn as an open pawn, even if the last day
of grace has expired.  Upon appeal, if the “denial” status is modified to a “proceed” status, then
the pledgor should be permitted to redeem the firearm. 


