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Title 7. Banking and Securities 

Part 1. Finance Commission of Texas 

Chapter 2. Residential Mortgage Loan Originators Applying for Licensure with the Office of 

Consumer Credit Commissioner Under the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage 

Licensing Act 

Subchapter A. Application Procedures for Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner Applicants 

§2.107. Prelicensing Education 

 

 The Finance Commission of Texas 

(commission) adopts new §2.107, 

concerning Prelicensing Education, in 7 

TAC, Chapter 2, concerning Residential 

Mortgage Loan Originators Applying for 

Licensure with the Office of Consumer 

Credit Commissioner Under the Secure and 

Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing 

Act. 

 

 The commission adopts new §2.107 

without changes to the proposed text as 

published in the November 3, 2017, issue of 

the Texas Register (42 TexReg 6067).  

 

 The commission received no written 

comments on the proposal.  

 

 In general, the purpose of the new rule 

is to implement HB 3342, which the Texas 

Legislature passed in the 2017 legislative 

session. HB 3342 authorizes the commission 

to set the expiration period for prelicensing 

education of residential mortgage loan 

originators. Before HB 3342, Texas Finance 

Code, §180.056(h) stated: "An individual 

who fails to maintain a residential mortgage 

loan originator license for at least five 

consecutive years must retake the 

prelicensing education requirements 

prescribed by the S.A.F.E. Mortgage 

Licensing Act." HB 3342 amends this 

provision by replacing "at least five 

consecutive years" with "the period of time 

established by rule of the rulemaking 

authority." In this provision, "rulemaking 

authority" refers to the commission, as 

provided by Texas Finance Code, 

§180.002(21). HB 3342 goes into effect on 

January 1, 2018. 

 

 Adopted new §2.107 provides a five-

year expiration period for prelicensing 

education. This is the same period described 

by current Texas Finance Code, 

§180.056(h). The five-year period is 

currently used by the Nationwide Multistate 

Licensing System (NMLS), the system for 

licensing residential mortgage loan 

originators. 

 

 Section 2.107(a) states that if an 

individual completes the 20 hours of 

prelicensing education required by the 

S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act, 12 U.S.C. 

§5104(c)(1), and fails to obtain a valid 

license or federal registration within five 

years from the date of completion, then the 

individual must retake the 20 hours of 

prelicensing education in order to be eligible 

for licensure. Section 2.107(b) states that if 

an individual obtains a license or federal 

registration and fails to maintain the license 

or registration for at least five consecutive 

years, then the individual must retake the 20 

hours of prelicensing education required by 

the S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act, 12 

U.S.C. §5104(c)(1), in order to be eligible 

for licensure. 

 

 The State Regulatory Registry (SRR) 

has proposed reducing the five-year 

expiration period to three years, as explained 

in SRR's "Response to Comments Received 
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During the SRR Comment Period on the 

Proposed Pre-Licensure Education 

Expiration Policy," dated July 21, 2015. 

However, this change has not yet taken 

effect in the NMLS system. The agency 

anticipates that the change will occur as part 

of an NMLS update currently scheduled for 

fall 2018. The agency intends to revisit the 

rule in 2018. Because the change to a three-

year period will take some time to be 

effective, the commission is currently 

adopting a five-year period consistent with 

current requirements. 

 

 The new rule is adopted under Texas 

Finance Code, §180.004(b), which grants 

the commission the authority to implement 

rules to comply with Texas Finance Code, 

Chapter 180. Additionally, Texas Finance 

Code, §180.056(h), as amended by HB 

3342, authorizes the commission to adopt a 

rule establishing the period of time after 

which an individual must retake prelicensing 

education requirements. Texas Finance 

Code, §180.056(a) authorizes the 

commission to adopt rules providing 

additional requirements for prelicensing 

education. Texas Finance Code, §180.061(4) 

authorizes the commission to adopt rules 

establishing requirements for any activity 

the agency considers necessary for 

participation in NMLS. 

 

 The statutory provisions affected by the 

adopted new rule are contained in Texas 

Finance Code, §180.056. 

 

§2.107. Prelicensing Education. 

 

 (a) Failing to obtain license. If an 

individual completes the 20 hours of 

prelicensing education required by the 

S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act, 12 U.S.C. 

§5104(c)(1), and fails to obtain a valid 

RMLO license or federal registration within 

five years from the date of completion, then 

the individual must retake the 20 hours of 

prelicensing education in order to be eligible 

for licensure. 

 

 (b) Failing to maintain license. If an 

individual obtains an RMLO license or 

federal registration and fails to maintain the 

license or registration for at least five 

consecutive years, then the individual must 

retake the 20 hours of prelicensing education 

required by the S.A.F.E. Mortgage 

Licensing Act, 12 U.S.C. §5104(c)(1), in 

order to be eligible for licensure. 

 

Certification 

 

 This agency hereby certifies that the 

adoption has been reviewed by legal counsel 

and found to be within the agency's legal 

authority to adopt. 

 

 Issued in Austin, Texas on December 15, 

2017. 

 

Laurie B. Hobbs 

Assistant General Counsel 

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner 


