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RETAIL CREDITOR ADVISORY BULLETIN 
 

Increased Documentary Fee 
Effective September 5, 2013 

 
 
Senate Bill 1248 
Earlier this year, the Texas Legislature passed a bill, SB 1248, that repeals the $50 limitation on 
the  documentary  fee  that  may  be  charged  by  retail  creditors  under  Texas  Finance  Code, 
Chapter  345.  SB  1248  states  that  the  Finance  Commission  may  set  by  rule  a  reasonable 
maximum  amount  for  the documentary  services  that may be  charged  in  a  retail  installment 
transaction  for  the purchase of  a motorcycle, motor‐driven  cycle, moped,  all‐terrain  vehicle, 
boat, boat motor, boat trailer, or towable recreational vehicle. 
 
 
Documentary Fee Rule 
The  Finance Commission has  adopted  a new  rule  setting  the  reasonable maximum  amounts 
that may be charged by Chapter 345 retail creditors in a retail installment transaction. The new 
rule will be located in Texas Administrative Code, Title 7, Section 86.201. 
 
 

 For a retail  installment contract for the purchase of one or more covered  land vehicles 
(i.e., wheeled vehicles listed above), the reasonable maximum documentary fee is $125. 
 

 For  a  retail  installment  contract  for  the purchase of one or more  covered watercraft 
(i.e., boat or boat motor), the reasonable maximum documentary fee is $125. 
 

 For a  retail  installment contract  for  the purchase of at  least one covered  land vehicle 
AND  at  least  one  covered watercraft,  the  reasonable maximum  documentary  fee  is 
$175. 
 
 

Effective Date 
The new rule will go  into effect on September 5, 2013, and will be available online as of that 
date  (www.sos.state.tx.us).  The  increased  documentary  fee  may  not  be  charged  before 
September 5. 
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