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OCCC CASE NO. L24-00039 

IN THE MATTER OF: 
 
MASTER FILE NO.: 2300076168 
TRIPPS AUTO SALES LLC 
423 W. 7TH STREET 
TEXARKANA, TEXAS 75501 

§ 
§ 
§ 
§ 
§ 
§ 
§ 

BEFORE THE 
 

OFFICE OF CONSUMER 
 

CREDIT COMMISSIONER 
 

STATE OF TEXAS 

AGREED ORDER 

The Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (“OCCC”) issues this Agreed Order 
against Tripps Auto Sales LLC (“Tripps Auto Sales”), based on the violations of 
law described below.1 

Statement of Facts and Law 

Under Chapter 348 of the Texas Finance Code, a person must hold a motor vehicle 
sales finance license issued by the OCCC in order to act as a holder of a motor 
vehicle retail installment contract.2 A holder is a person who operates as a retail 
seller or holds and collects on a contract in which the person agrees to accept the 
cash price of a motor vehicle in one or more deferred installments.3 

Tripps Auto Sales is a motor vehicle dealer that does not currently hold a license 
with the OCCC. On October 10, 2023, Tripps Auto Sales submitted a new motor 
vehicle sales finance license application under master file number 2300076168 and 
application ID number 104329. Tripps Auto Sales’ compliance officer is Jimmy 
Andrews, and its designated contact address is 423 W. 7th Street, Texarkana, Texas 
75501.  

Beginning September 21, 2023, Tripps Auto Sales engaged in activity requiring a 
license by entering into seven motor vehicle retail installment contracts. Tripps 
Auto Sales accepted the cash price of motor vehicles in one or more deferred 

 
1 Tex. Fin. Code §§ 14.208, 14.251. 
2 Tex. Fin. Code § 348.501. 
3 Tex. Fin. Code § 348.001(3), (7), (8). 



Page 2 of 4 

installments without a motor vehicle sales finance license, in violation of Section 
348.501 of the Texas Finance Code. 

Order & Agreement 

By signing below, Tripps Auto Sales acknowledges these violations, waives all 
rights to any hearing or appeal, agrees to pay the administrative penalty and make 
the restitution identified below, and otherwise agrees to comply with this Order 
and Texas Law. 

IT IS ORDERED that: 

1. No later than February 16, 2024, Tripps Auto Sales must pay an 
administrative penalty in the amount of $700.00 to the OCCC (calculated as 
$100 per transaction for entering 7 transactions without a license). 

2. No later than February 16, 2024, Tripps Auto Sales must identify all motor 
vehicle retail installment transactions that it entered without a license and 
must refund to the retail buyer any finance charges that it collected or that 
remain collectible. 

3. No later than February 16, 2024, Tripps Auto Sales must provide the OCCC 
with a spreadsheet of all transactions it identified and all buyers that it gave 
a refund. This list must include the buyer’s name, account number, 
transaction date, amount financed, amount of finance charges, and refund 
amount. 

4. Tripps Auto Sales must keep a copy of each customer’s refund check or 
payment history showing an account credit until the later of its first 
examination or the required retention period.4 During the first examination 
or an investigation of Tripps Auto Sales, the OCCC will confirm that all 
refunds listed in the spreadsheet have been made. 

5. Tripps Auto Sales must comply with, and cease and desist from violating, 
the motor vehicle sales finance licensing requirement in Section 348.501 of 
the Texas Finance Code. 

 
4 See 7 Tex. Admin. Code § 84.704(b), (g). 
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Violation of Order 

If Tripps Auto Sales violates this Order, this may result in one or more of the 
following actions by the OCCC: (1) an administrative penalty of up to $1,000 for 
each day of violation of this Order, (2) an order to refund any finance charges 
contracted for, charged, or received at unlicensed locations, or (3) denial, 
suspension, or revocation of Tripps Auto Sales’ motor vehicle sales finance 
license.5 If Tripps Auto Sales conducted unlicensed activity other than the activity 
identified above, then the OCCC may impose additional administrative penalties 
based on the number of transactions, and may order Tripps Auto Sales to refund 
additional finance charges for unlicensed transactions.6 

Signed this 6th day of February, 2024. 

/s/ Leslie Pettijohn     
Leslie L. Pettijohn 
Consumer Credit Commissioner 
State of Texas 

AGREED: 

/s/ Jimmy Andrews   
Jimmy Andrews 
Owner 
Tripps Auto Sales LLC 
(signed electronically with permission) 
  

 
5 Tex. Fin. Code §§ 14.208, 14.251(b), 348.504, 348.508. 
6 Tex. Fin. Code § 14.251(b). 
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I certify that on February 6, 2024, a true and correct copy of this Agreed Order has 
been sent to Tripps Auto Sales LLC by the following: 

Tripps Auto Sales LLC 
Attn: Jimmy Andrews, Compliance 
Officer 
423 W. 7th Street 
Texarkana, TX 75501 
trippsautosales@gmail.com 

☒ email 

☐ eFileTexas.gov electronic service 

☐ regular mail 

☐ certified mail, return receipt requested 

/s/ Vivek V. Vedanarayanan   
Vivek V. Vedanarayanan 
Assistant General Counsel  
Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner 
State Bar No. 24127068 
2601 North Lamar Blvd. 
Austin, TX 78705 
512-936-7623 
vivek.vedanarayanan@occc.texas.gov 


