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RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR 
 

Professional Requirements Under SAFE1

 
Texas House Bill 10 (“HB10”), the Texas Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2009, was 
enacted into law on June 19, 2009, in order to bring the mortgage licensing laws of the State of Texas into compliance 
with the federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Lending Act of 2008 (“SAFE Act”).  The SAFE Act 
requires all states to pass mortgage licensing laws and regulations that meet or exceed certain national standards.  
More information about the SAFE Act can be found at:  
 

http://www.csbs.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=SAFE_Act. 
 
Under HB10, all individuals meeting the definition in the law of a residential mortgage loan originator (RMLO) must 
meet new licensing requirements that are in compliance with the SAFE Act. 
 
In order to comply with the new law, all individuals acting as residential mortgage loan originators must do the 
following: 
 
NMLS form -  MU4 filing with the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (“Texas OCCC”) 
 

All individuals acting as a residential mortgage loan originator (RMLO) must have filed or file a Form MU4 
through National Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) with the Texas OCCC, beginning April, 2010. 

 
The SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test  
 
All mortgage loan originators must pass the SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test, which is comprised of two 
components: a National Component and a State Component. Residential mortgage loan originators must pass each 
Component with a score of 75% or higher.  
 

National Component 
 
Individuals acting as residential mortgage loan originators must pass the National Component before filing 
Form MU4 through NMLS.   
 
If you have already passed the National Component of the SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test and your 
passing score is part of your RMLO record in NMLS, you will not need to take it again.  
 
State Component 
 
It is anticipated that the Texas OCCC State Component Test will be available to test takers mid-June 2010. 
 
Individuals acting as residential mortgage loan originators must pass the Texas OCCC State Component 
before filing Form MU4 through NMLS. 

 
Pre-Licensure Education Requirements  
 
Residential mortgage loan originators must complete a minimum of 20 hours of pre-licensure education under HB10. 
before filing Form MU4 through NMLS. 
  
                                                      
1  Requirements may be refined and dates adjusted as planning for transitioning to the NMLS advances. 

http://www.csbs.org/AM/Template.cfm?Section=SAFE_Act


 
If the residential mortgage loan originator has already satisfied 20 hours of NMLS approved education in any state or 
have had education certified by another state, you are not responsible for the above. 
 
Continuing Education Requirements 
 
In order to renew their license for calendar year 2012 all residential mortgage loan originators must complete 8 hours 
of NMLS approved Continuing Education during calendar year 2011.   
 
Background Check 
 

Criminal History 
 
All individuals acting as residential mortgage loan originators must authorize a fingerprint background check 
through NMLS for the purpose of conducting a national criminal history background check through the 
Federal Bureau of Investigation when filing Form MU4 through NMLS. This requirement applies to all 
individuals, regardless of whether you are currently licensed in the state or if you have previously submitted 
fingerprints for licensure.  
 
NMLS will implement a comprehensive process which includes electronic fingerprint capture with locations 
throughout the state.  NMLS anticipates this functionality to be available in January 2010. 
  
Credit Report 
 
All residential mortgage loan originators must provide authorization to obtain a credit report through NMLS.  
Texas OCCC will review the credit report provided through the NMLS as part of its determination of 
financial responsibility for each residential mortgage loan originator. 
 

Additional information and details relating to background checks will be posted at a later date. 
 
Financial Requirements
 
Every licensed residential mortgage loan originator must be covered under the state-managed State-Licensed 
Residential Mortgage Loan Originator Recovery Fund.  Each residential mortgage loan originator must participate in 
the Recovery Fund and do so through fees collected during the licensing process.   
 
Additional Information Resources 
 
For information and instructions regarding the Professional Requirements listed above and the National Mortgage 
Licensing System visit the NMLS Resource Center: 
 

http://www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/NMLS//AM/Template.cfm?Section=Home3 
 

In addition, the Texas OCCC website offers state-specific information as it becomes available.  Visit the Texas OCCC 
Website: 
 

http://www.occc.state.tx.us/safe.html 
 
 
If you have specific questions, contact: 
 

Division of Licensing 
licensing@occc.state.tx.us

mailto:licensing@occc.state.tx.us

