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Overview 
 
The OCCC has approximately 1,565 pawnshop licensees and 7,244 pawnshop 
employee licensees. During FY 2017, the OCCC issued 34 final orders against 
pawnshops and 64 final orders against pawnshop employees.  
 
For pawnshops, the most common violation is employing an individual as a 
pawnshop employee for more than 75 days without the individual holding or 
applying for a pawnshop employee license. Of the 34 orders issued against 
pawnshops in FY 2017, 15 orders are for violation of the 75-day rule, 13 orders 
are for late annual reports, three orders are for inadequately describing pledged 
goods, two orders are for inaccurately recording the name of pledgors, and one 
order is for unlicensed activity. 
 
For pawnshop employees, the most common violation is working as a pawnshop 
employee for more than 75 days without holding or applying for a license. Of the 
64 orders issued against pawnshop employees, all 64 orders are for violation of 
the 75-day rule. 
 
This report summarizes the statutes and rules that apply to the most common 
pawnshop and pawnshop employee violations. The report also describes the 
typical enforcement action taken by the OCCC to address each type of violation. 
 

I. PAWNSHOP ACTIONS 
 
Violation of Pawnshop Employee 75-Day Rule 
 
Texas law prohibits a pawnshop from employing an individual as a pawnshop 
employee for more than 75 days without the individual holding or applying for a 
pawnshop employee license.1 
 

                                                 
1 Section 371.101(c) of the Texas Finance Code. 
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In FY 2017, the OCCC initiated 15 enforcement actions against pawnshops for 
violating the pawnshop employee 75-day rule. In all 15 enforcement actions, the 
OCCC issued an injunctive order for a first-time violation. 
 
Untimely Annual Report 
 
Texas law requires a pawnshop to file an annual report with the OCCC.2 The 
annual report must provide certain information in a format prescribed by the 
OCCC and in accordance with the OCCC’s instructions.3 The OCCC’s 2015 
annual report instructions specified a deadline of June 1, 2016 to file the report.4 
 
In FY 2017, the OCCC initiated 13 enforcement actions against pawnshops for 
failing to timely file their annual report. In all 13 enforcement actions, the OCCC 
issued an injunctive order for a first-time reporting violation. 
 
Inadequate Description of Pledged Goods 
 
Texas law requires pawnshops to fully and accurately describe pledged goods.5 
The goods must be accurately and fully described including any identifying 
marks such as the item type, brand, make, model number, engraving, 
inscriptions, color, size, length, unique marking, and design.6 
 
In FY 2017, the OCCC initiated three enforcement actions against pawnshops for 
failing to adequately describe pledged goods. Of the three enforcement actions, 
the OCCC issued an injunctive order against two pawnshops and issued an 
administrative penalty against one pawnshop. 
 
Incorrect Pledgor Name 
 
Texas law requires pawnshops to record the pledgor’s name on a pawn ticket.7 A 
pawnbroker shall require identification of the pledgor and make its best effort to 
determine whether the identification properly identifies the pledgor.8  
 

                                                 
2 Section 371.201 of the Texas Finance Code; Title 7, Section 85.502 of the Texas Administrative Code. 
3 Title 7, Section 85.502 of the Texas Administrative Code. 
4 Pawnshop Annual Report Instructions available at: http://occc.texas.gov/industry/pawnshops-and-
pawn-employees/annual-reports.  
5 Section 371.154(4) of the Texas Finance Code. 
6 Title 7, Section 84.405(e) of the Texas Administrative Code. 
7 Section 371.157(2) of the Texas Finance Code. 
8 Section 371.174(a) of the Texas Finance Code. 
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In FY 2017, the OCCC initiated two enforcement actions against pawnshops for 
failing to accurately identify the pledgor on pawn tickets. In both enforcement 
actions, the OCCC issued an injunctive order. 
 
Unlicensed Activity 
 
Texas law requires a license from the OCCC to operate as a pawnshop.9 A 
pawnshop is a place where a pawnbroker regularly conducts business.10 A 
pawnbroker is a person engaged in the business of lending money on the 
security of pledged goods or purchasing goods on condition that the goods may 
be redeemed by the seller for a fixed price within a fixed period.11 
 
In FY 2017, one person operated as a pawnshop without a license from the 
OCCC. The OCCC issued an injunctive order against the person.  
 
II. PAWNSHOP EMPLOYEE ACTIONS 

 
Violation of Pawnshop Employee 75-Day Rule 
 
Texas law prohibits a person from working as a pawnshop employee for more 
than 75 days without the person holding or applying for a pawnshop employee 
license from the OCCC.12 
 
In FY 2017, the OCCC initiated 64 enforcement actions against pawnshop 
employees for violating the 75-day rule. In all 64 enforcement actions, the OCCC 
issued an injunctive order for a first-time violation. 
 

                                                 
9 Section 371.051 of the Texas Finance Code. 
10 Section 371.003(7) of the Texas Finance Code. 
11 Section 371.003(6) of the Texas Finance Code. 
12 Section 371.101(a) of the Texas Finance Code. 


