Debt Management and Settlement Providers include 2 sets of activities:
- Consumer credit counseling services
- Debt negotiators
Apply online with ALECS
Effective September 1, 2015 all application must be submitted online.
Changes- Current Licensed Location
Make changes online with ALECS
If instructed by OCCC staff to do so, mail in Amendment or Change to License.
2016 Annual Report Submission will be filed through ALECS.
Acrobat Reader is required to view, download, and complete forms. Save forms to your computer before filling in.
Statutes & Rules
These are the primary statutes and rules that apply to debt management and settlement providers. This is not a complete list of laws that debt management and settlement providers are required to comply with.
Primary State Statute
Chapter 394, Texas Finance Code: Debtor Assistance
Title 7, Chapter 88, Texas Administrative Code
Other State Statutes
Texas Legislature Online
Federal Statutes & Rules
U.S. Government Publishing Office
Adjustments to Maximum Fee Amounts
Section 394.210 of the Texas Finance Code lists maximum fee amounts for debt management and debt settlement providers. Under Section 394.2101, the OCCC publishes adjustments to these amounts based on the Consumer Price Index. The following maximum fee amounts are in effect from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020:
|Debt management setup fee||394.210(f)(1)||$111.00|
|Debt management monthly service fee||394.210(f)(2)||Lesser of $11.00 per account or $56.00|
|Debt settlement setup fee||394.210(g)(1)||$445.00|
|Debt settlement monthly service fee||394.210(g)(2)||Lesser of $11.00 per account or $56.00|
|Counseling or education if no debt management or settlement service provided||394.210(l)||$111.00|
|Fee for dishonored payment||394.210(n)||$28.00|
Note: These calculations are based on comparing the reference base index for December 2011 (225.672) to the index for December 2018 (251.233). The percentage change is an 11.3266% increase, rounded to the nearest dollar. The fee descriptions above are just a summary. Providers should carefully review Section 394.210 and other applicable law to ensure that their fees are authorized.